Uefa to ask for review of double touch rule on penalties after Alvarez incident
Atlético Madrid player denied in shooutout against RealUefa to enter discussions with Fifa and Ifab over ruleUefa is to ask for a review of the double touch rule on penalty kicks, after “clearly unintentional” contact from Julián Alvarez cost Atlético Madrid in their last-16 Champions League shootout.Alvarez touched the ball with both his right and left foot in scoring past Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois on Wednesday. A VAR check overturned the strike, givi